Steering Committee

The Steering Committee of the Appalachia Funders Network is the main governing body and is responsible for the growth, development and well-being of the Network. It consists of a set group of influential local, state, regional, international, federal, public, and private grantmakers who are working collectively to guide the overarching roles, activities, and impacts of the Network. They attend monthly conference calls and serve on at least one working group or ad-hoc committee.

Co-Chairs of the Appalachia Funders Network Steering Committee

Mary Hunt
Program Director at the Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation

Gerry Roll
Executive Director at Foundation for Appalachian Kentucky 

2018 Steering Committee Members

Ray Daffner
Entrepreneurship Initiative Manager at the Appalachian Regional Commission

Michelle Foster
President and CEO at the The Greater Kanawha Valley Foundation 

Jen Giovannitti
Regional Community Development Manager, Community Development at the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

Terri Donlin Huesman
President at Osteopathic Heritage Foundations 

Cuong Hoang
Director of Programs for Chorus Foundation

Jeff Mansour
Program Officer at Thompson Charitable Foundation

Lora Smith
Executive Director at Appalachian Impact Fund

Susan Urano
Executive Director at Athens Foundation

Joe Woody
Area Director of Greeneville and Knoxville for USDA Rural Development Tennessee